San Diego Teacher of the Year Awards a Huge Success

Let’s hear it for the Teachers!

As a way to commemorate teachers and their hard work, Cox Communications recently celebrated their 29th annual “Salute to Teachers” gala at the Balboa Theatre. The San Diego County Office of Education along with Cox Communications distributed the Teacher of the Year Awards to the top five teachers in San Diego County.

The gala serves as a way to recognize teachers and the consistent hard work they put in for the academic year but also towards their students. Moreover, students from Poway High School, Patrick Henry School, San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts, and Infinity Dance and Performing Arts school come to the gala to perform and show their appreciation for teachers.

Nominees for the Teacher of the Year award come from all 42 school districts in San Diego County. The five award recipients will now compete in California’s Teacher of the Year competition as San Diego County representatives.

For the recent gala, San Diego County Credit Union was the event’s sponsor. SDCCU President and CEO Teresa Campbell commented on how dedicated and appreciative SDCCU is towards teachers and their outstanding work. Moreover, they are proud to have sponsored such an award that acknowledges the effect teachers have on their students’ success.