Press Releases

Issa Introduces the GAS Act to Prevent the Biden Administration Ban on Gas Stoves

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Darrell Issa (CA-48) introduced the GAS Act, which would stop the Biden Administration from its contemplated ban on gas-burning stoves.

“The Biden Administration’s clear consideration to ban an appliance used by more than 40 million homes and 76 percent of restaurants is worse than Green New Deal-style regulation run amok. It is a preposterous overreach of federal power that would deny Americans a necessary product they use every day,” said Rep. Issa.

In December, 22 Democrat Senators and members of Congress urged the Biden Consumer Product Safety Commission to take action against gas stove usage. Recent comments by a top Biden appointee confirmed actions by the CPSC were under consideration.

Congressman Issa’s legislation is being co-sponsored by 43 Members of Congress: Ralph Norman, Bill Posey, Stephanie Bice, Claudia Tenney, Dan Newhouse, Scott Perry, Andy Biggs, Bill Huizenga, Adrian Smith, Ronny Jackson, Mark Amodei, Tom McClintock, Ben Cline, Lori Chavez DeRemer, Mike Garcia, William Timmins, Russ Fulcher, Jim Baird, Scott Franklin, Burgess Owens, Erin Houchin, David Rouzer, Brandon Williams, Monica De La Cruz, Eric Burlison, Harriet Hageman, Mark Alford, Nancy Mace, Andy Harris, Chuck Edwards, Mike Carey, Mike Enzell, Keith Self, Joe Wilson, Brian Babin, Barry Moore, Doug Lamborn, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Mike Johnson, Rich McCormick, MD, MBA, John Moolenaar, Carol Miller, and Brad Finstad.