Grieving Families, Public Safety Officials and Lawmakers Gather to Demand Action on State’s Fentanyl Crisis

Protest to Take Place on Same Day as one of the Final Public Safety Committee Hearings

SACRAMENTO – Grieving families, public safety officials and state lawmakers will gather at the State Capitol to demand action on California fentanyl crisis.

Nearly 500 Californians are dying every month from fentanyl. Yet, the Assembly Public Safety Committee has refused to hold hearings to consider legislation aimed at addressing California’s fentanyl crisis. Tuesday marks one of the last days that the Committee will meet before nearly all fentanyl legislation will be stalled in the legislative process.

Tuesday, April 18, 2023 at 9:00 AM

California State Capitol Park Near Firefighters Memorial on 13th Street
Click here for Map
Click here for Google Pindrop Location

Laura Didier, Mother of 17-year-old son who lost his life to fentanyl (Rocklin)
Natalie Page, Sister of a 36-year-old father who lost his life to fentanyl (Yuba City)
Perla Mendoza, Mother of 20-year-old son who lost his life to fentanyl (Seal Beach)
Pamela Smith, Mother of 22-year-old son who lost his life to fentanyl (Fresno)

Matt Capelouto, Father of 20-year-old daughter who lost her life to fentanyl, Founder of Drug Induced (Temecula)
Angela Webb, Founder and CEO of Arrive Alive California (AAC)
Jennifer Dupré, Sutter County District Attorney
Jeff Reisig, Yolo County District Attorney
Lisa Smittcamp, Fresno County District Attorney


  • A large dump truck capable of holding 28,000 pounds, roughly the same weight of fentanyl that was seized by law enforcement in California last year.
  • Vials of inert materials representative of enough fentanyl to kill 1,000 people.

Legislators Slated to Attend:
Assembly Republican Leader James Gallagher (R-Yuba City)
Senate Minority Leader Brian W. Jones (R-San Diego)
Assembly Republican Caucus Chair Tom Lackey (R-Palmdale)
Senate Minority Caucus Chair Janet Nguyen (R-Huntington Beach)
Assemblyman Joe Patterson (R-Rocklin)

Assemblyman Juan Alanis (R-Modesto)
Assemblyman Tri Ta (R-Westminster)
Assemblywoman Laurie Davies (R-Laguna Niguel)
Assemblywoman Diane Dixon (R-Newport Beach)

Assemblywoman Kate Sanchez (R-Rancho Santa Margarita)
Assemblyman Devon J. Mathis (R-Porterville)

Assemblyman Bill Essayli (R-Riverside)
Assemblyman Jim Patterson (R-Fresno)
Senator Roger Niello (R-Fair Oaks)
Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield)
Senator Kelly Seyarto (R-Murrieta)

Click Here for Livestream Link

For press inquiries or questions, please contact Jim Stanley for the Assembly Republican Caucus at 860-460-8775.